Missing you

It’s midnight

And your arms should be around me

Face nestled into my back

Gently breathing, punctuated

By your tender mid-sleep kisses 

To toss and reverse

My arms grasping you tightly 

The warmth of your back

On my bare chest 

Until we overheat 

And sleep holding hands 

To wake again to gentle kisses 

And excited eyes

Good morning babes, I love you 

Your excited text messages 

When we slept apart 

Our FaceTime dates 

To stay close 

Oh fondly I remember 

All that made us magical

Lost to me now

In a nightmare 

Of my own device

It’s midnight 

And I miss you 

Leave a Reply

