I danced

Today, I danced.
I closed my eyes,
And allowed my body to move.

I released the leash
I held upon myself
Repressed expression
Closed heart
Invulnerability.

I danced today.
My body felt
Itself.
It moved in ways
I had forgotten
(forbidden)
It could.

I lead with my body
And quieted my mind
Eyes closed,
I expanded my presence
Through heat
Sound
Contact.
I touched
And I was touched.

Dancing, today
I experienced
Movement
Of my own expression
Independent of myself
Collective of the ensemble
of fluidity
Washed away in the
Swirling, twisting, sweating organism
Of dancers

Today, I let it all go
And I danced.

Leave a Reply

